Main Content

Deadline Nears for Applying for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 19, 1999
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Residents of New York State who have not yet applied for federal disaster assistance have only four more weeks to apply. Wednesday, November 17, is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, federal and state disaster recovery officials said today.

Federal Coordinating Officer Marianne C. Jackson and State Coordinating Officer Edward F. Jacoby, Jr. urge those who have not applied to call the toll-free registration line at 1-800-462-9029, which is open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week. Persons with hearing or speech impairments can call the TDD registration line at 1-800-462-7585.

Renters, homeowners or business owners who live or do business in one of the counties President Clinton declared a federal disaster area after Tropical Storm Floyd may be eligible for assistance. The 11 counties are Albany, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Schenectady, Ulster and Westchester.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans. SBA loan applications must be completed and returned to SBA by Nov. 17. Businesses applying for Economic Injury Disaster Loans from the SBA have until June 19, 2000 to apply.

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs or the location of Disaster Recovery Centers, call the Disaster Information Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 (TDD 1-800-660-8005).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top