Main Content

Disaster Aid Ordered For New Hampshire Storm Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
October 18, 1999
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid for New Hampshire was made available today to help communities in three counties recover from the effects of Tropical Storm Floyd.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued for the state this afternoon. The declaration covers damage to public property from the storm that spawned heavy rains, high winds and flooding over the period of September 16-18.

Under the declaration, federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the storm, and restoring damaged public facilities in the counties of Belknap, Cheshire and Grafton. Funding also will be available to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Witt, who designated the counties eligible for assistance following the declaration, indicated that additional counties may be designated later if requested and warranted by the results of the further damage assessments. He named William Lokey of FEMA to serve as the federal coordinating officer for the recovery effort.

Lokey said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top