Disaster Recovery Outreach Aids 30,000 Applicants

Main Content
Release date: 
October 15, 1999
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- One month after Hurricane Floyd inundated eastern and central North Carolina, 29,386 storm victims have visited disaster recovery centers to talk with state and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) program specialists about various programs and types of assistance.

Twenty-two centers are providing assistance in hard-hit counties, including three mobile recovery centers that are making stops in outlying areas. The mobile centers will be making their first visits to Onslow and Dare counties in the next week.

The centers are intended to help applicants who already have registered for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA application hotline at 1-800-462-9029. Center staff will provide information on assistance programs, including housing assistance, available rental resources, Small Business Administration low-interest loan applications, business loans, mitigation and other disaster-related issues. The staff also helps storm victims determine the status of applications already filed.

Recovery officials said that the centers can provide crisis counseling services to any individuals who are experiencing stress due to the consequences of the disaster. Individuals and families seeking crisis-counseling services do not have to be registered with FEMA to get crisis-counseling. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments who use special keyboard equipment (TTY) should call toll-free 1-800-462-7585. Officials say that after registering, applicants should bring their registration number as well as their social security numbers when visiting a disaster center.

Disaster Recovery Centers:
Monday - Saturday: 8a.m.- 7p.m.
Sunday: 1p.m.-7p.m.

Beaufort County
632 W. 5th St.

Brunswick County
1420 Old Ocean Hwy.

Duplin County
512 E. Railroad St.

Hertford County
500 W. Main St.

Nash County
1006 Eastern Ave.

Pitt County
Carolina East Ctr. Suite 10
S. Memorial Dr.

Wilson County
116 S. Goldsboro St.

Bertie County
129 S. King St.

Columbus County
415 S. Madison St.

Edgecombe County
3003 N. Main St.

Jones County
Federal Building
115 S. Market St.

Nash County
300 SE Main St.
Rocky Mount

Robeson County
3409 Lackey St.

Bladen County
311 S. Poplar St.

Craven County
2101 Neuse Blvd.
New Bern

Greene County
229 Kingold Blvd.
Snow Hill

Lenoir County
107 S. Queen St.

Pender County
101 S. Wright St.

Wayne County
208 W. Chestnut St.

Oct 16 Sat.

Pitt County
Clarks Neck Fire Dept.
5440 Clarks Neck Road
Clarks Neck

Oct 17-21 Sun.-Thurs.

Onslow County
Old Lowes Bldg.
1255 Western Blvd. Extsn.

Oct 16_ Sat.

Sampson County
Ivanhoe Comm. Bldg.
2952 Dr.Kerr Road

Oct 18-20 Mon.-Wed.

Dare County
Sessenden Center
(Behind Dillons Crnr.)
46830 Highway 12

Oct 16-17 Sat.-Sun.

Dare County
Nags Head Fire Dept.
5314 Croaton Hwy
(Hwy 158)
Nags Head

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top