Berks Residents Get OK for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 15, 1999
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Berks County residents who suffered damages or losses as a result of flooding from Hurricane Floyd are eligible for disaster assistance, federal and state officials announced today.

The county has been added to President Clinton's major disaster declaration of Sept. 18 for Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Montgomery, Philadelphia and York counties.

"We are pleased that federal aid is now available to the residents of Berks County who were affected by Hurricane Floyd," said Bob Churchman, acting director of the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency.

Residents may apply for disaster-housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

"Individuals and business owners in Berks County who suffered damages or losses from Hurricane Floyd last month are encouraged to apply for federal assistance by calling the toll-free registration number," said Federal Coordinating Officer Jack Schuback, of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The teleregistration number is 1-800-462-9029. Those with speech or hearing impairments can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top