Main Content

Litchfield County Now Included in Tropical Storm Floyd Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
October 14, 1999
Release Number: 

DANBURY, Conn. -- Litchfield County has been added to the list of Connecticut counties eligible for federal disaster assistance following Tropical Storm Floyd. 

Federal Coordinating Officer Sharon L.Stoffel said the addition was made following a review of information regarding damages incurred to private property from the high winds, heavy rains and flooding generated by Floyd, September 15 through 21.

The designation means that residents and business owners in Litchfield County are eligible to apply for disaster assistance that can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.  Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

This brings to three the number of Connecticut counties eligible for individual assistance programs authorized as a result of the September 23 major presidential disaster declaration.  The other two eligible counties are Fairfield and Hartford.

"Additional forms of aid for state and local government agencies may be designated later if warranted by the results of further damage assessments," State Coordinating Officer John T. Wiltse said.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin the disaster application process immediately by calling 1-800-462-9029, 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.  Hours of operation for both toll-free lines are from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.  The application deadline is November 22.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: