Two New Centers Open to Bring Information to Disaster Applicants; Sunday Hours at Two Other Centers

Main Content
Release date: 
October 4, 1999
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- Two Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC), which can provide needed disaster-related information to those affected by Tropical Storm Floyd, are scheduled to open Tuesday, October 5, according to state and federal recovery officials.

"Disaster Recovery Centers really are a great resource for someone who has specific questions about their own situation," said Marianne C, Jackson, federal coordinating officer. "We just want to remind people to call 1-800-462-9029 first so they can get their applications going quickly. People with hearing- or speech-impairments can call TDD 1-800-462-7585. Then, applicants with questions about their application can call the toll-free Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 (TDD - 1-800-660-8005) or visit a Disaster Recovery Center."

The informational centers will be located at the Mahopac Village Center, Route 6, Mahopac, and at the Village Fire House, 9 Mountain Avenue, Highland Falls. The centers will be open on Oct. 5 from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. and Oct. 6 from 9 .m. to 7 p.m. The centers will then operate Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, Oct. 11-13, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. These centers will be open on Columbus Day, Oct. 11.

Officials have also announced that two other centers, opened last week at the Clarkstown Town Hall, New City and in the Yorktown Green Shopping Center, Yorktown Heights, will be open Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Sunday, Oct. 10, from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m.

"The centers provide a face-to-face opportunity for disaster victims to talk with recovery specialists about a variety of governmental and voluntary agency programs designed to help residents begin rebuilding their lives and property," said Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., state coordinating officer for the disaster recovery effort. "People from any county are welcome to visit any of the centers."

Residents, business owners and others impacted by Tropical Storm Floyd in Albany, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Orange, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Schenectady, Ulster and Westchester counties, are eligible to apply for disaster assistance. Assistance could include disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top