Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center To Open in Union County

Release date: 
September 30, 1999
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open Tuesday in Lewisburg, Union County, to provide disaster information and assistance to victims of heavy rains and flooding caused by Tropical Depression Dennis in five central Pennsylvania counties.

The DRC will be located at Brookpark Farms, 100 Reitz Boulevard in Lewisburg. Hours of operation will be 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, October 9.

Federal and state officials urge residents who have suffered losses to homes, personal property or businesses because of flooding to register for federal disaster assistance before going to the DRC by calling FEMA's toll-free number - 1-800-462-9029 - which is in operation from 7 a.m. to midnight daily through Sunday. Beginning Monday, telephone registration hours will be 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week.

Speech- or hearing-impaired applicants can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Lycoming, Northumberland, Snyder and Union counties were made eligible for disaster assistance after a disaster declaration by President Clinton on Sept. 22. Dauphin County was added yesterday.

Residents may be eligible for disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: