Dauphin County Residents OK'd for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 29, 1999
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Dauphin County residents who suffered damages or losses as a result of heavy rains and flooding over the Labor Day weekend are eligible for federal assistance, federal and state officials announced today.

The county has been added to President Clinton's major disaster declaration of Sept. 22 for Lycoming, Northumberland, Snyder and Union counties.

"We are pleased that federal aid is now available to the storm-affected residents of Dauphin County," said Bob Churchman, acting director of the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency.

Residents may apply for disaster-housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

"Individuals and business owners in this county who suffered damages from the storms are encouraged to apply for federal assistance by calling the toll-free registration number," said Jack Schuback, of the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The teleregistration number is 1-800-462-9029.  Those with speech or hearing impairments can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top