Four Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
September 28, 1999
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the South Carolina Emergency Preparedness Division (SCEPD) announced today that President Clinton's September 21 disaster declaration has been amended to provide additional assistance to four South Carolina counties.

Residents and business owners in Berkeley, Colleton, Marion and Williamsburg counties may now be eligible for a variety of programs and services including housing assistance. Local government units and certain non-profit organizations in Williamsburg County will also be reimbursed for the eligible cost of emergency services and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Floyd and subsequent flooding.

Disaster recovery officials urge those in declared counties - Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Georgetown, Horry, Marion and Williamsburg - to apply for assistance if they suffered damage or loss as a result of Hurricane Floyd and subsequent flooding. They may apply by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 1 800 462-9029, between 7 a.m. and midnight (ET) daily. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1 800 462-7585.

FEMA reports that, at close of business on Monday, 3569 applicants had already called the teleregistration number. By that same time, more that 700 people had visited Disaster Recovery Centers in Conway, Charleston, Georgetown and Myrtle Beach. Those centers will stay open until further notice but have changed their days of operation to Monday through Saturday, 9am to 6pm.

Four additional centers will be opened to assist residents in the newly declared counties. Representatives of various federal, state and voluntary agencies will staff these centers to provide information on disaster assistance programs and services as well as technical advice on repair and rebuilding to minimize loss in any future disaster. The location and schedule of each Disaster Recovery Center is listed below.

In Berkeley County:
Location - Berkeley County Office Building
223 North Live Oak Drive
Moncks Corner
Open - Thursday, September 30 (Until Further Notice)
9am to 6pm

In Williamsburg County:
Location - Williamsburg Technical College
601 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave.
Open - Thursday, September 30 through Saturday,
October 2 - 9am to 6pm

In Colleton County:
Location - National Guard Armory
849 Cottageville Highway
Open - Monday, October 4 through Wednesday,
October 6 - 9am to 6pm

In Marion County:
Location - National Guard Armory
800 Greene Street
Open - Thursday, October 7 through Saturday,
October 9 - 9am to 6pm

[All eight Disaster Recovery Centers will be closed on Sundays.]

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top