Four Disaster Recovery Centers to Open

Main Content
Release date: 
September 27, 1999
Release Number: 

OWINGS MILLS, Md. -- To further help individuals and businesses affected by Hurricane Floyd, the State of Maryland and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open four Disaster Recovery Centers on Thursday, September 30. Each center will be open for three days only: Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, September 30 through October 2. The centers will be in:

Harford/Cecil Counties
Darlington Volunteer Fire Dept.
2600 Castleton Rd.

Kent/Queen Anne's Counties
Millington Community Volunteer Fire Co.
185 Sassafras St.

Caroline/Talbot Counties
Caroline County Courthouse
109 Market

Somerset County
City Hall
319 West Main

The temporary Disaster Recovery Centers are designed to provide more detailed program information to those who have already applied for assistance under President Clinton's September 24 disaster declaration and who may have further questions. Representatives of state, federal, and voluntary agencies will be present, including loan officers from the U.S. Small Business Administration. The disaster programs available include temporary housing, individual and family grants, disaster unemployment assistance, and other aid programs.

Please Note: financial assistance is not directly provided from these centers.

The Disaster Recovery Centers Will be Open from
10:00 A.M. TO 6:30 P.M. Thursday and Friday
10:00 A.M. TO 4:00 P.M. Saturday.

Applicants are encouraged to apply by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-462-9029. The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., EDT, daily, until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top