Recovery Center Opens Monday in Greene County; Mobile Center Due in Halifax, Hollister, Roanoke Rapids

Main Content
Release date: 
September 25, 1999
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- A state-federal disaster recovery center will open Monday at Snow Hill in Greene County, and a mobile center is scheduled for three stops in Halifax County during the week.

The Greene County center will be located at 229 Kingold Blvd. in the County Office Complex. The Halifax mobile center, the 18th established in North Carolina in the aftermath of Hurricane Floyd, will make stops in Halifax, Hollister and Roanoke Rapids. Hours of operation for all centers are 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until further notice.

Halifax County's schedule for the mobile center includes: September 26-27, Southeast High School, 16683 Hwy 125, Halifax; September 28-29, Pine Chapel Baptist Church, 37571 Hwy 561, Hollister; and September 30-October 1, Kirkwood Adams Community Center, 1100 Hamilton St., Roanoke Rapids. Hours for the mobile center are 8 a.m.-7 p.m. at all locations.

Staffed by specialists from the state, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and volunteer agencies, the centers will assist individuals and business affected by flooding in the aftermath of Floyd.

Program specialists will supply answers to queries about recovery programs, including housing assistance, available rental resources, SBA low-interest loan applications, business loans, mitigation and other issues. The staff also will help storm victims determine the status of applications already filed. The disaster recovery centers are not designed to handle applications for assistance. That should be done by first calling the toll-free registration line, 1-800-462-9029. Persons with hearing or speech impediments who need special keyboard equipment should call toll-free (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Officials have urged applicants to bring their social security numbers when visiting a disaster center.

Sixteen similar centers already have opened in the disaster area.

The following disaster recovery centers will be open daily from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. and will be staffed with representatives of federal, state and voluntary agencies who will help answer questions about disaster assistance programs available to eligible applicants. The centers are intended to serve flood victims who have already registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) through its Application Hotline, 1-800-462-9029.

Beaufort County
Dept. of Social Services Bldg.
632 West 5th St.
Washington, N.C.
Bertie County
129 South King St.
Windsor, N.C.
[in front of courthouse]
Bladen county
Old Sears Bldg.
311 S. Poplar St.
Elizabethtown, N.C.
Brunswick County
Democratic Hqtrs. Bldg.
1420 Old Ocean Hwy.
Supply, N.C.
Columbus County
415 South Madison St.
Whiteville, N.C.
Craven County
Old Montgomery Ward Bldg.
2101 Neuse Blvd.
New Bern, N.C.
Duplin County
Campbell Center (Wallace Elem.)
512 S. East Railroad St.
Wallace, N.C.
Edgecombe County
3003 N. Main St.
Edgecombe Co. Social Svcs. Bldg.
Tarboro, N.C.
Greene County
County Office Complex
229 Kingold Blvd.
Snow Hill, N.C.
Jones County
110 South Market St.
Trenton, N.C.
Lenoir County
Old Safeway Bldg.
107 S. Queen St.
Kinston, N.C.
Nash Count...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top