Main Content

Federal Disaster Funds Made Available

Release date: 
September 24, 1999
Release Number: 

TOWSON, Md. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Clinton authorized federal disaster funds for the people of Maryland who suffered losses from Hurricane Floyd.

The declaration makes federal assistance available to eligible homeowners, renters, and business owners who sustained damage as a result of the storms and flooding. Residents of Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, St. Mary's, and Talbot counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance.

Maryland residents are encouraged to register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for those who are hearing- or speech-impaired. The toll-free numbers will be available starting Saturday morning September 25th from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (EDT) seven days a week until further notice.

"All Maryland residents who sustained damage from this Hurricane should register with FEMA, regardless of where they live." said Federal Coordinating Officer Curt Musgrave. "You must register to determine eligibility for federal and state assistance programs."

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: