Main Content

Three Disaster Recovery Centers to Open in North Carolina

Main Content
Release date: 
September 23, 1999
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- The first three disaster recovery centers (DRCs) will be opened Monday in Wilson, Tarboro and Rocky Mount to further serve the recovery needs of Hurricane Floyd victims in 66 storm-ravaged North Carolina counties. More centers will open soon.

The centers will be staffed with representatives of federal, state and voluntary agencies who can answer questions about assistance available to residents of the counties designated as a major disaster area by President Clinton.

Location of the first three centers and their operation hours are:

116 S. Goldsboro Street
Wilson, NC
8 a.m. - 7 p.m

3005 Anaconda Road
Tarboro NC
8 a.m. - 7 p.m

300 SW Main Street
Station Sq.
Woodard Building
Rocky Mount, NC.
8 a.m. - 7 p.m.

State and federal officials coordinating recovery efforts explained that a variety of federal, state and voluntary agency programs are available for homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the disaster. Glenn Woodard of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the federal official coordinating recovery action, emphasized that now is the time to learn about these programs and begin the process of recovering from this massive disaster.

The centers will be open to everyone. To be eligible for federal disaster assistance, however, individuals must reside or do business in one of the 66 counties included in the presidential disaster declaration. Hurricane Floyd's victims are urged to start the application process by calling 1-800-462-9029, FEMA's toll-free registration line. Those with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

  • Disaster housing assistance for individuals and families whose homes were destroyed or made unlivable as a result of wind or flood damage arising from Floyd's strike. The program provides funding for temporary lodging or repairs needed to make a home safe, secure and habitable.

  • Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters or businesses. Grants may made through FEMA's Individual and Family Grant program for people who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot met by other sources.

  • Technical advice on common-sense strategies to minimize losses in future disasters.

"The DRCs will remain open as long as necessary to help to people of North Carolina recover from this disaster," said Eric Tolbert, director of the N.C. Emergency Management Division.

Counties declared as disaster areas are:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans,, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: