Main Content

Registration Deadline Extended For 30 Days

Main Content
Release date: 
September 23, 1999
Release Number: 

DULUTH, Minn. -- Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management (DEM) have announced a 30 day extension of the application period for individual assistance for disaster victims qualifying under the July 28, Presidential Disaster Declaration. Residents and business owners in the Minnesota counties of Beltrami, Cass, Cook, Itasca, Lake and St. Louis, now have until October 25, 1999, to apply for assistance if affected by high winds or flooding that occurred between July 4 and August 2, 1999.

Homeowners, renters and small business owners in the five declared counties who suffered damage or loss are urged to register as soon as possible for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number 1 800 462-9029 (TTY 1 800 462-7585). Application specialists are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. Calling and registering is the only way to receive federal and state disaster assistance. After the October 25 deadline passes it will be too late to apply for assistance. Even if people have insurance to cover damage, they should not prejudge their qualification for additional assistance, they should call today and register.

The FEMA Helpline is available after registration, to update personal information, check on the status of an application or answer questions about disaster assistance. The Helpline can be reached by calling toll-free 1 800 525-0321 (TTY 1 800 660-8005).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top