Main Content

Disaster Declaration Opens Way For Assistance in 66 Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
September 23, 1999
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Renters, homeowners and business owners in the 66 North Carolina counties designated a major disaster area may find help through a variety of programs, federal and state officials today reminded victims of the storm.

"We're doing everything within our power to make sure services are quickly provided to those who need them," said Glenn Woodard, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) official coordinating federal response and recovery efforts in North Carolina.

"Tens of thousands of our citizens live in the area most affected by the flooding," said Eric Tolbert, director, North Carolina Emergency Management Division. "We'll offer them every help available." Thus far in the first week of registration for disaster aid, nearly 28,000 persons have registered via the toll-free registration line, Tolbert said.

Assistance programs include:

  • Temporary disaster housing help for persons whose primary residences were made unlivable; low-interest loans for repair and replacement of real or personal property; grants to meet emergency housing and personal property needs for persons who are uninsured or underinsured; disaster unemployment assistance if a storm victim's job has been interrupted; and crisis counseling for persons deemed in need for such help.

  • Sixteen disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will be open in the state by the weekend. State and federal personnel staffing the centers can assist flood victims by explaining programs available. Persons who seek information on disaster assistance or the status of their application for help should first register via the toll-free telephone line, 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments who use special keyboard equipment (TTY) should call 1-800-462-7585.

All of the centers will be open daily from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. They are located at the follow sites:

Beaufort County -Opens Sat.
Dept. of Social Services Bldg.
632 West 5th St.
Washington. N.C.

Bertie County_- Opens Sat.
129 South King St.
Windsor. N.C.
[in front of courthouse]

Bladen County - Open
Old Sears Bldg.
311 S. Poplar St.
Elizabethtown, N.C.

Brunswick County - Open
Democratic Hqtrs. Bldg.
1420 Old Ocean Hwy.
Supply, N.C.

Columbus County - Open Fri.
415 South Madison St.
Whiteville, N.C

Craven County - Open
Old Montgomery Ward Bldg
. 2101 Neuse Blvd.
New Bern, N.C.

Duplin County - Open Fri.
Campbell Center (a/k/a Wallace Elem.)
513 S. East Railroad St.
Wallace, N.C.

Edgecombe County - Open
3003 N. Main St.
Edgecombe Co. Social Services Bldg.
Tarboro, N.C.

Jones County - Open Fri.
110 South Market St.
Trenton, N.C.

Lenoir County - Open
Old Safeway Bldg.
107 S. Queen St.
Kinston, N.C.

Nash County - Open
300 SE Main St.
Station Square
Rocky Mount, N.C.

Nash County - Open Sat.
1006 Eastern Ave.
Agricultural Center
Nashville, N.C.

Pender County - Open Fri.
101 South Wright Street
(Hwy 53 across from Courthouse Sq.)
Burgaw, N.C.

Pitt County - Open
Carolina East Center
Suite 10, South Memorial Dr.
Greenville, NC

Wayne County - Open
Wayne Center
208 W. Chestnut St.
Goldsboro, NC

Wilson County - Open
116 S. Goldsboro St.
Woodard Bldg.
Wilson, N.C.

Counties declared as disaster areas are:

Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, M...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: