Disaster Aid Ordered For Florida Hurricane Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
September 22, 1999
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster aid for Florida was made available today to help communities in nine counties recover from the effects of Hurricane Floyd.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said President Clinton authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued for the state this afternoon. The declaration covers damage to public property from Floyd, which began affecting the state's eastern coastline on September 13.

The action follows the President's emergency declaration of September 14 that released federal resources to help meet immediate critical needs and funding for state and local governments for debris removal and emergency services, including requested emergency work undertaken by the federal government.

Witt said that today's declaration provides federal funding for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for restoring damaged public facilities in the counties of Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, St Johns, St. Lucie and Volusia. The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Witt, who designated the counties eligible for assistance following the declaration, indicated that additional counties may be designated later if requested and warranted by the results of the further damage assessments. He named David A. Rodham of FEMA to serve as the federal coordinating officer for the recovery effort.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top