Disaster Recovery Centers to Open in Five Southeastern Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
September 20, 1999
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Five Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) will open at 1 p.m. Wednesday to assist victims of Hurricane Floyd.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) announced centers will open in the following disaster-declared counties.

Bucks County
4200 Neshaminy Blvd.
Neshaminy Mall

Montgomery County
Montgomery County Fire Academy
1175 Conshohocken Road
Plymouth Township

Chester County
Government Services Center
601 Westtown Road
West Chester

Philadelphia County
Bartram High School
2429 S. 67th St. and Elmwood Ave.

Delaware County
Darby Township Administration Building
21 N. Bartram Ave.
Darby Township

Hours for all DRCs will be: 10 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday; 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday; and noon to 4 p.m. on Sunday.

Federal Coordinating Officer Jack Schuback and State Coordinating Officer Bob Churchman are urging anyone who suffered losses or damages from the hurricane to apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-462-9029. Those with speech or hearing impairments should call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

State and federal personnel will be available in the DRCs to answer questions and provide additional information. Assistance is determined case by case and covers only losses or damages not covered by insurance or other aid programs.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

Disaster Housing Assistance, administered by FEMA, may be available to individuals and families whose homes were made uninhabitable by the hurricane. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations, rental assistance, or minimal home repairs needed to make a property safe, secure and habitable.

Low-interest loans may be available to homeowners, renters or business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.

Grants may be available to individuals and families who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources.

Technical advice will be available on common-sense strategies homeowners can use to minimize losses from future disasters.

Additional state assistance available in the DRC includes disaster unemployment assistance, consumer protection, health and welfare assistance, well-water testing, drivers license replacement, vehicle registration and title replacement, senior citizen services, state income and sales and use tax questions, and agriculture support.

To be eligible for federal disaster assistance, individuals must reside or do business in one of the counties included in the disaster declaration.

The centers will be staffed by federal and state governments and voluntary agencies who will provide information about the disaster assistance available to residents of the seven counties designated to date under the Presidential disaster declaration. Additional DRCs may be established later.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top