Main Content

Beaufort, Craven Counties Added to 9 Others; Emergency Assistance to Governments Expanded

Release date: 
September 8, 1999
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Beaufort and Craven Counties today were added to nine other North Carolina counties whose local governments earlier were declared eligible for emergency federal assistance resulting from damage left in the wake of Hurricane Dennis.

All 11 counties now are also eligible to seek reimbursement of up to 75 percent of the cost of removal of debris, which includes tons of sand from roads on the Outer Banks islands.

Glenn C. Woodard, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) official named by President Clinton to coordinate federal response and recovery efforts in the state, added the two counties and extended the benefits to local governments.

"Our joint federal-state damage assessments reflect the need to enlarge both the geographic area and the cost reimbursement program," he said. "The week-long rampage of this storm has left substantive needs that local governments and the state cannot fully meet without additional help."

"I've seen first-hand the damage that Dennis inflicted upon these counties and the amount of debris that was created," said North Carolina Crime Control and Public Safety Secretary Richard H. Moore. "FEMA is to be commended for its prompt action in responding to our request for this additional assistance to those counties hardest hit.,"

The first nine counties-Brunswick, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico and Pender-received an emergency declaration from the president September 1, 1999.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: