Disaster Assistance Deadline Extended To October 1 For North Dakota Residents

Main Content
Release date: 
September 7, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- The deadline to register for disaster assistance has been extended to Oct. 1 for individuals and business owners in 42 North Dakota counties and four reservations who suffered losses due to severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, snow and ice, ground saturation, landslides and mudslides.

While more than 10,000 North Dakota households and businesses have registered for assistance, recent interviews completed by state and federal recovery officials showed that many people with recurrent water problems had not registered, particularly the elderly. The deadline extension will allow those who suffered damage between March 1 and July 19 the chance to register for assistance.

People may register for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number, 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired). The lines are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Statewide, more than $26 million in grants and low-interest loans have been made available for home and business repair, emergency rental assistance and replacement of personal property. For information on state and federal assistance programs, or to update an application, call the FEMA Helpline at

1-800-525-0321 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585). For more information about U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans, call 1-800-366-6303.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top