Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers To Open In 12 South Texas Counties Following Hurricane Bret

Main Content
Release date: 
September 4, 1999
Release Number: 

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Texas Division of Emergency Management (Texas DEM) are opening a Disaster Recovery Center in each of the 12 south Texas counties affected by Hurricane Bret.

The first six will open at 10 a.m. Tuesday (Sept. 7) in Driscoll, Falfurrias, Kingsville, McAllen, Premont, and Raymondville.

Individuals are encouraged to register for assistance by calling the toll-free teleregistration number prior to visiting the Disaster Recovery Center, but anyone who has questions about available assistance can go to a Disaster Recovery Center. The centers will be staffed with representatives of federal, state and voluntary agencies who will provide information and answer questions about the assistance available to residents of the 12 counties designated disaster areas as a result of Hurricane Bret.

Federal Coordinating Officer Brad Gair, of FEMA, and State Coordinating Officer Ed Laundy, of Texas DEM, urge anyone who has suffered losses or damages as a result of the Hurricane Bret to visit the centers during hours from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Mondays through Saturdays, and from 1 to 5 p.m. on Sundays. The first six centers to open Tuesday are located at:

  • Driscoll (Nueces County), Coastbend Youth Center, at 2547 U.S. Hwy. 77.
  • Falfurrias (Brooks County), Lacks Furniture Store, 119 W. Rice.
  • Kingsville (Kleberg County), Dick Kleberg Park Recreation Building, Escondido Street.
  • McAllen (Hidalgo County), Federal Building, 320 N. Main, Suite 101 & 104.
  • Premont (Jim Wells County), Old Primary School, 400 N. Agnes.
  • Raymondville (Willacy County), Larry E. Frank Memorial Center, 427 S. 7th St.

The remaining six Disaster Recovery Centers will open at the following locations and dates:

  • Benavides (Duval County), Sept. 14-16, at Benavides Center, Hwy 359 South.
  • Brownsville (Cameron County), Sept. 17-19, at County Courthouse, 954 E. Harrison.
  • Laredo (Webb County), Sept. 11-13, at Hwy 359 Centro Comunitario Para la Familia en Larga Vista, 5401 Larga Vista Dr.
  • Rockport (Aransas County), Sept. 11-12, at District Court Room, 801 Live Oak.
  • Sarita (Kenedy County), Sept 15-17, at Kenedy County Courthouse, 101 Mallory.
  • Sinton (San Patricio County), Sept. 11-13, at Wayne Hitt Law Enforcement Center, 300 N. Rachal.

Centers are open to everyone, however, to be eligible for federal disaster assistance, individuals must reside or do business in one of the counties included in President Clinton's disaster declaration for Hurricane Bret.

Hurricane victims are urged to start the application process by calling toll-free, 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing or speech impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585 to apply.

Programs available to eligible applicants include:

  • Disaster Housing Assistance, funded and administered by FEMA, for individuals and families whose homes were destroyed or made unlivable as a result of the hurricane. The program provides funding for temporary accommodations or repairs needed to make a home safe, secure and habitable.

  • Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners for the repair, replacement or rebuilding of disaster-damaged property.

  • Grants, administered by Texas DEM, through the Individual and Family Grant program for people who have serious immediate needs resulting from the disaster that cannot be met by other sources. This program is funded 25 percent by Texas DEM and 75 percent by FEMA.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: