San Bernardino and Plumas Counties Added to Emergency

Main Content
Release date: 
September 3, 1999
Release Number: 

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. -- The counties of San Bernardino and Plumas have been added to the Presidential emergency declaration arising from the current and recent spate of California wildfires, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

A total of six counties have been designated under President Clinton's emergency declaration of September 1, which specified the counties of Butte, Shasta, Tehama and Tuolumne - all in the northern part of the state.

"This funding will be for actions needed to save lives, insure public health and safety, and protect property," said Mark Ghilarducci, federal coordinating officer for FEMA.

Ghilarducci explained that federal money, through FEMA, will reimburse the state and affected local governments in the six counties 75 percent of the approved cost of emergency measures. He added that this funding also will cover part of the cost to remove hazardous debris from the fires.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top