Beltrami County Added To Presidential Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
September 3, 1999
Release Number: 

DULUTH, Minn. -- Federal disaster aid was made available today to help families, businesses and communities in Beltrami County recover from the effects of the severe storms and flooding that occurred between July 4 and August 2.

Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Minnesota Department of Public Safety's Division of Emergency Management (DEM) today announced that an amendment to the July 28, presidential declaration adds the County of Beltrami to the counties of Cass., Cook, Itasca, Lake, and St. Louis to receive assistance.

Residents and business owners in Beltrami County who suffered damage or loss in the storms are urged to apply for assistance by calling the special FEMA toll-free registration number, 1 800 462-9029 or for the hearing and speech impaired (TTY 1 800 462-7585).

"It is important to begin the application process," said Kevin Leuer, state coordinating officer. "Even if you think you may not qualify for assistance, if you suffered damage during the storms, don't hesitate to call and don't prejudge your eligibility. It's important that all impacted residents get the assistance they are entitled to," he said.

In addition to individual assistance, the amendment allows Beltrami County to receive public assistance for infrastructure repair and reconstruction, and for eligible costs associated with debris removal and emergency services in the aftermath of the storms and flooding that began July 4.

With the recent declaration amendment, homeowners, renters, and small business owners in Beltrami County can apply for various types of disaster assistance. Disaster assistance may include disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other relief programs. People must begin the process for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free number, it is the only way to receive federal and state assistance.

Beltrami County was added to the presidential declaration after FEMA reviewed damage assessment information gathered by teams of representatives from FEMA, the Small Business Administration (SBA), and the Minnesota DEM. "As damage assessment figures have come in from around the state, FEMA has reviewed the data, adding counties to the declaration," Ron Sherman, federal coordinating officer, said in making the announcement.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top