Main Content

Four Texas Counties Added For Federal Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 26, 1999
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The counties of Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells and Webb have been added to the list of Texas jurisdictions designated for federal assistance under President Clinton's major disaster declaration issued for Hurricane Bret last Sunday.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the additional designations were made following a review of damage assessment data from federal and state disaster officials. The action brings to 11 the number of counties that have been qualified for federal aid since the President's declaration.

Witt said affected local governments in the four added counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal and emergency services related to the hurricane. He indicated that more counties and other forms of federal aid may be designated as warranted by the results of ongoing damage assessments

Counties previously designated for this assistance include Aransas, Cameron, Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces, San Patricio and Willacy.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top