Main Content

Disaster Application Period Ends September 7

Release date: 
August 25, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- North Dakota residents who were affected by severe storms, tornadoes, snow and ice, flooding, ground saturation, landslides, and mudslides from March 1 to July 19 have only a short time left to register for federal and state disaster assistance. The deadline for renters, homeowners or business owners to register is September 7.

Federal Coordinating Officer Lesli A. Rucker and State Coordinating Officer Adjutant General Keith D. Bjerke encourage those who have not yet registered to call the toll-free registration line at 1-800-462-9029, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. (TTY: 1-800-462-7585, for the speech- or hearing-impaired)

Programs available include disaster housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans, and grants to meet disaster-related needs unmet by other assistance programs. Individuals who register with FEMA and receive a SBA application need to also file that application with SBA by the September 7 deadline.

Residents may be eligible for assistance if they live, or have their business, in one of the following areas: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Divide, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams Counties and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Standing Rock Sioux, the Three Affiliated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs, call the Disaster Information Helpline at 1-800-525-0321. (TTY: 1-800-462-7585)

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: