Main Content

Cass County Residents and Business Owners Can Now Apply for Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
August 12, 1999
Release Number: 

DULUTH, Minn. -- Officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management (DEM) have announced the addition of Cass County to those northern Minnesota counties now eligible to receive individual disaster assistance. Cass County residents and business owners now join those in Cook, Itasca, Lake and St. Louis in being able to apply for assistance if affected by high winds or flooding that occurred between July 4 and August 2.

Homeowners, renters and small business owners in the five declared counties who suffered damage or loss are urged to apply as soon as possible for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free at 1 800 462-9029 (TTY 1 800 462-7585). Phone lines will be open Monday through Saturday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. until further notice.

Cass County is one of eight counties declared eligible to receive public assistance by Presidential declaration on July 28. That assistance is available to municipalities and non-profit organizations for infrastructure repair and reconstruction and to cover costs of debris removal and emergency services following the severe storms that began on July 4.

The assistance available to individuals in Cass, Cook, Itasca, Lake and St. Louis Counties includes disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other relief programs. Application for these types of assistance begins with a call to the toll-free teleregistration number, 1 800 462-9029.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: