Disaster Recovery Center to Open in Waverly

Main Content
Release date: 
August 4, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- To further help individuals and businesses affected by recent storms and flooding, the State of Iowa and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open another Disaster Recovery Center in Iowa on Friday, August 6 in:

Bremer County
City Hall
200 First St. N.E.

The temporary Disaster Recovery Center is designed to provide more detailed program information to those who have already applied for assistance under President Clinton's July 22 disaster declaration and who may have further questions. Representatives of state, federal, and voluntary agencies will be present, including loan officers from the U.S. Small Business Administration. The disaster programs available include temporary housing, individual and family grants, disaster unemployment assistance, and other aid programs. PLEASE NOTE financial assistance is not directly provided from this center.

The Disaster Recovery Center Will Be Open From
9:00 A.M. TO 6:30 P.M.
Monday Through Saturday. Closed Sundays.

(NOTE: The Waverly Recovery Center WILL be open on Sunday, August 8 from 1:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.)

Applicants are encouraged to apply by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-462-9029. The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., CDT, daily, until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top