Flood Victims Should Re-Apply for Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
August 3, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Residents of Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, and Jones counties who applied for disaster assistance in May must re-apply if they sustained additional flood damage after July 2.

Many residents in these five counties sustained damage during storms and flooding in May, which resulted in a presidential disaster declaration. A second round of storms, beginning on July 2, has generated a second disaster declaration, which makes disaster assistance available again to residents, business owners, and agricultural producers of these five counties. However, to qualify for disaster assistance, damage caused by the July storms MUST be reported by calling the registration number a second time.

All Iowa residents affected by the recent storms are encouraged to apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY number for hearing- or speech-impaired is 1-800-462-7585. Hours of operation for the numbers are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (CDT) seven days a week, until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top