FEMA Helpline Offers Answers, Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 2, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has a toll-free number that residents of 42 North Dakota counties and four Indian reservations can call to receive information about disaster assistance.

Those who have registered for state and federal disaster assistance can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 to receive information about, or provide updates to, their application. It is important that anyone registered with FEMA provides a current address and phone number if they move.

Helpline representatives are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. to answer questions about the assistance process or the status of applications. Area residents affected by the flooding are encouraged to first register with FEMA by calling 1-800-462-9029 (TTY for the speech- and hearing-impaired: 1-800-462-7585).

Counties in the declaration include: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Divide, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams. Also included are the American Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Three Affiliated Tribes, the Standing Rock Sioux (that portion of the reservation which lies within the State of North Dakota) and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top