Main Content

Federal Assistance Approved For More Iowa Counties

Release date: 
July 30, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Residents of four more Iowa counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance, disaster recovery officials announced today. President Clinton's July 22 disaster declaration was amended to include Buchanan, Fayette, Howard, and Mitchell counties.

This brings to 13 the number of Iowa counties eligible for individual federal disaster assistance in the wake of severe storms and flooding that began on July 2. They are Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Jones, Mitchell, Woodbury, and Worth.

Curt Musgrave, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), said this amendment to the July 22 disaster declaration means homeowners, renters, farmers, ranchers, agricultural producers and businesses in these counties may now apply for a variety of programs. The assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious, disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the The Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

"Iowa residents who sustained damage from this violent weather should register for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number," said State Coordinating Officer Steve Zimmerman. The number is 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing- or speech- impaired. Application can be made between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., CDT, daily, until further notice.

The following counties were also declared eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance program: Black Hawk, Bremer, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Crawford, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, Woodbury, and Worth. Under this program, governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities.

Federal Assistance Approved for More Iowa Counties

Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities.

Zimmerman added that the first step toward providing assistance to communities would be an applicant's briefing for local officials and certain non-profit organizations. The Iowa Emergency Management Division (IEMD) will conduct these briefings. Dates and times will be announced.

According to FEMA officials, 75 percent of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by federal funds. The State of Iowa will pay 10 percent and the applicant the remaining 15 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: