FEMA to Disaster Victims -Apply Again

Main Content
Release date: 
July 27, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Residents of Black Hawk, Butler, and Jones counties who applied for disaster assistance following the tornadoes, storms and floods in May must re-apply if they sustained damage in the recent July storms and floods.

On July 22, President Clinton declared a federal disaster for four Iowa counties: Black Hawk, Butler, Jones and Woodbury. The declaration makes federal assistance available to eligible homeowners, renters, business owners and agricultural producers in the counties who sustained damage as a result of the severe storms and flooding that began July 2.

Black Hawk, Butler and Jones counties had also been declared disaster areas in May. Residents of these counties must re-apply for assistance if they received additional damage from the July storms.

All Iowa residents who received damage from the recent storms are encouraged to apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration number: 1-800-462-9029. The TTY number for the hearing- or speech-impaired is 1-800-462-7585. Hours of operation for the numbers are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. (CDT) seven days a week, until further notice.

"It's unfortunate that some people have sustained damage from both of these violent incidents," said Curt Musgrave, FEMA federal coordinating officer. "But it is necessary to re-register even if you applied after the May disaster."

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top