Main Content

Three Counties Receive Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
July 13, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- Federal and state officials announced that disaster assistance is now available for an additional three North Dakota counties. Individual assistance and public assistance programs have been designated for Cavalier, Eddy and Morton Counties. This assistance comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of ongoing flooding and severe storms in the state.

"The continuing severe storms and flooding in North Dakota have taken a toll," said State Coordinating Officer Adjutant General Keith Bjerke. "We encourage anyone who has suffered damage to register for possible assistance."

Residents and business owners in the three counties can register for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585). Individual assistance could include emergency housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other forms of assistance.

"Federal, state and local goverments, along with volunteer agencies are working together to meet immediate needs and address the long-term recovery issues in North Dakota," said Lesli A. Rucker, federal coordinating officer.

The designation of public assistance means that local jurisdictions and some private non-profit agencies in the designated counties are eligible to receive funds for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The additional designations bring the total to 42 counties and four reservations designated to receive assistance under the disaster declaration signed by President Clinton June 8, 1999, following a request by Gov. Ed Schafer. Areas previously declared in North Dakota include: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Divide, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams Counties and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe (that portion of the reservation which lies within the State of North Dakota), Three Affiliated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: