Main Content

Five Counties, One Reservation Receive Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 7, 1999
Release Number: 

BISMARCK, N.D. -- Federal and state officials announced that disaster assistance is now available for an additional five North Dakota counties and one reservation. Individual assistance and public assistance programs have been designated for Burke, Divide, Sioux, and Williams Counties and the Indian Reservation of the Standing Rock Sioux (that portion of the reservation which lies within the State of North Dakota). Individual assistance only has been designated for Mercer County. This assistance comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of ongoing flooding and severe storms in the state.

"The continuing severe storms and flooding in North Dakota have taken a toll," said State Coordinating Officer Adjutant General Keith Bjerke. "We encourage anyone who has suffered damage to register for possible assistance."

Residents and business owners in the five counties and one reservation can register for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585). Individual assistance could include emergency housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other forms of assistance.

"Federal, state and local goverments, along with volunteer agencies are working together to meet immediate needs and address the long-term recovery issues in North Dakota," said Lesli A. Rucker, federal coordinating officer.

The designation of public assistance means that local jurisdictions and some private non-profit agencies in the designated areas also are eligible to receive funds for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The additional designations bring the total to 39 counties and four reservations designated to receive assistance under the disaster declaration signed by President Clinton June 8, 1999, following a request by Gov. Ed Schafer. Areas previously declared in North Dakota include: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, and Wells Counties and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Three Affiliated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: