Deadline For Disaster Unemployment Assistance Applications In Pueblo County Is Thursday, July 8

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 1999
Release Number: 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- People in Pueblo County who have experienced unemployment because of the severe storms and flooding that began April 29 have until Thursday, July 8, to apply for disaster unemployment assistance. The deadline for applying for other forms of disaster assistance is July 15.

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program extends unemployment benefits to people who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation, such as farmers and self-employed individuals, who experienced unemployment as a result of the disaster.

Claims for disaster unemployment assistance should be filed at the local Colorado Department of Labor Job Service Center.

Victims of the spring flooding who have suffered losses to their home or business who have not yet registered for assistance should call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll free registration line at 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. The deadline for registration for FEMA assistance in Bent, El Paso, Larimer, Otero, Pueblo and Weld counties is July 15.

Victims who have registered and have questions about the status of their application should call the FEMA Helpline, 1-800-525-0321 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) or visit the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) located in La Junta at 215 Raton.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top