Main Content

Chickasaw County Eligible For Federal Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Chickasaw County is now eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to repair or replace public facilities damaged by severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes May 16-29, disaster recovery officials announced today.

The addition of Chickasaw County brings the number of Iowa counties eligible for federal aid to 16. They are Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Harrison, Jones, Linn, Montgomery, and Scott.

Curt Musgrave, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), said this latest disaster designation means that governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities.

Disaster assistance may also be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities.

Iowa State Coordinating Officer, Steve Zimmerman, added that the first step toward providing assistance to communities for repairing damaged public infrastructure is for community officials to submit a Request for Public Assistance. Potential applicants should contact the Iowa Public Assistance officer at 319-221-7085.

According to FEMA officials, 75 percent of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by federal funds. The State of Iowa will pay 10 percent and the applicant the remaining 15 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: