Main Content

Deadline to Apply for Disaster Unemployment in Pueblo County

Main Content
Release date: 
June 10, 1999
Release Number: 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- People in Pueblo County who experienced unemployment because of the severe storms and flooding that began April 29 have until July 8 to apply for disaster unemployment assistance. A June 18 deadline continues for people in Bent, El Paso, Larimer, Otero and Weld counties.

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program extends unemployment benefits to people who would otherwise be ineligible for unemployment compensation, such as farmers and self-employed individuals who are out of work as a result of the disaster.

Claims for disaster unemployment assistance should be filed with the local Colorado Department of Labor office.

Those who have other disaster-related damages that occurred between April 29 and May 19 who have not yet registered for assistance should call the FEMA toll free registration telephone number 1-800-462-9029 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, to begin the recovery process.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top