Disaster Assistance Application Deadline Is July 2

Main Content
Release date: 
June 8, 1999
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- Residents of Segwick, Sumner and Reno counties who suffered damage from the severe storms and tornadoes which stuck south-central Kansas on May 3, have only 14 days remaining to register for federal disaster assistance programs.

Federal Coordinating Officer Charles E. Biggs of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and State Coordinating Officer Terri Ploger of the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) urge those who have not yet registered to do so as soon as possible by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 800-462-9029 (TTY 800-462-7585). Disaster assistance specialists are available to take calls between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. CDT Monday through Saturday.

Homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers, and business owners in Reno, Sedgwick and Sumner Counties who sustained damage from the severe storms may apply for federal assistance.

Those with questions about FEMA programs or the status of their applications may call the FEMA Helpline at 800-525-0321 (TTY 800-462-7585). Helpline specialists are available Monday through Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. CDT.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top