Main Content

Gregg County Added to Tornado Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 4, 1999
Release Number: 

TEXARAKANA, Texas -- Due to extensive damage received from the May 4 tornados, affected residents of Gregg County are now eligible to apply for federal and state disaster assistance, joining Bowie, Red River and Titus counties.

In announcing the addition of Gregg County Robert Teeri, Deputy Coordinating Officer with the Federal Emergency Management Agency said "The tornado effects were equally felt by many residents of Gregg County, and we are pleased to now be able to offer federal and state program assistance to those affected." The designation means that residents and business owners in Gregg County are eligible to apply for disaster assistance, which could include disaster housing aid, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm damaged property, or grants for serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other disaster programs.

The addition of Gregg County brings the total Texas counties eligible for disaster assistance programs to four, authorized as a result of President Clinton's major disaster declaration, following a request by Governor George W. Bush immediately after the May 4 tornadoes.

Affected residents and business owners in the declared counties are urged to register for assistance by calling, toll free, 1-800-462-9029 or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. Both lines will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily. Registration period closes on July 5, 1999.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: