Federal Assistance Approved for Three More Iowa Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
June 2, 1999
Release Number: 

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Three more Iowa counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance in the wake of the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes that struck the state between May 16 and May 29, disaster recovery officials announced today.

On Wednesday, June 2, Butler, Clinton, and Crawford counties were added to the counties eligible for federal disaster assistance. This brings to 13 the number of Iowa counties eligible for this aid. They are Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Harrison, Jones, and Linn.

Curt Musgrave, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), said this amendment to the May 21 disaster declaration means individuals and businesses in these counties may now apply for a variety of programs. The assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

"Iowa residents who sustained damage from this violent weather should register for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free number," said State Coordinating Officer Jerry Ostendorf. The number is 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing- or speech- impaired. The registration numbers are available from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. through Saturday, June 5. Starting Monday, June 7, the numbers will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice.

Butler and Clinton counties were also declared eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance Program. Under this program, governmental entities in these counties can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities

Ostendorf added that the first step toward providing assistance to communities would be an applicant's briefing for local officials and certain non-profit organizations. Butler and Clinton county officials will be invited to attend applicant briefings conducted by the Iowa Emergency Management Division (IEMD). According to FEMA officials, 75 percent of the costs of eligible approved projects will be reimbursed by federal funds. The State of Iowa will pay 10 percent and the applicant the remaining 15 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top