Main Content

Bowie County Eligible for Full Infrastructure Repair

Release date: 
May 14, 1999
Release Number: 

TEXARAKANA, Texas -- Bowie County has been made eligible for full Public Assistance programs, announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Texas Division of Emergency Management.

The extended disaster declaration will assist government entities and certain non-profit organizations in making permanent repairs to buildings and other infrastructure damaged by the severe storms and tornadoes that struck Bowie County on May 4.

"This action means that eligible organizations will get help in repairing uninsured or under-insured buildings, roads, bridges or other infrastructure," said Ed Laundy, State Coordinating Officer for the disaster.

The original Presidential disaster declaration made Bowie county eligible for individual assistance and programs to help with debris removal and to cover the additional costs of emergency services that resulted from the disaster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: