Federal Disaster Assistance Extended to Two More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 11, 1999
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- In response to Governor Bill Graves' request, the counties of Reno and Sumner were added today to President Clinton's disaster declaration of May 4, 1999.

Homeowners, renters, farmers, agricultural producers, and business owners in Reno, Sedgwick and Sumner Counties who sustained damage from the severe storms and tornadoes which struck south-central Kansas on May 3, are now eligible for federal assistance.

This assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are also available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Anyone who sustained damage from the severe storms and tornados, which started on May 3, should register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) by calling the toll-free teleregistration number: 1-800-462-9029. TTY service is available at 1-800-462-7585 for anyone who is hearing- or speech-impaired. The registration numbers are available from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. (CDT), daily.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top