Disaster Recovery Center Opens Thursday in Wichita, Kansas

Main Content
Release date: 
May 11, 1999
Release Number: 

WICHITA, Kan. -- State and federal officials have established a joint federal/state Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Wichita, Kansas. The DRC is located at:

2561-20 South Seneca St.
Wichita, Kansas

The DRC will open to assist applicants on Thursday, May 13. The DRC operating hours will be from 8:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m., daily until further notice.

The purpose of the DRC is to provide assistance and information to Sedgwick County residents who have experienced damages and losses from recent storms and tornadoes. Representatives of local, state, and federal agencies will be present. The disaster programs available include temporary housing, individual and family grants, disaster unemployment assistance, and other aid programs. Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration will be available to assist victims in applying for low-interest, long-term disaster loans.

All homeowners, renters, and business owners, including farmers, and other agricultural producers who have sustained damages to their homes or personal property from the severe storms and tornadoes that started May 3 are encouraged to take the first step in applying for disaster assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free registration number: 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing and speech impairments can register by calling 1-800-462-7585. The telephone numbers are operational from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. CDT, seven days a week.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top