Main Content

Plains States Tornado Disaster Update (Revised)

Main Content
Release date: 
May 7, 1999
Release Number: 

The situation in brief as of 5:00 p.m. Friday, May 7, 1999:

President Clinton Thursday issued a major disaster declaration for Bowie County, Texas. The disaster declaration makes available a variety of federal programs to help people and communities recover and rebuild more safely for the future.

Additional FEMA resources are moving into all affected areas as disaster field offices are established in Kansas and Oklahoma.

Shelter operators report that shelter use is decreasing as temporary housing is identified.

Highlights of the Federal Response:

  • Additional federal funding for Oklahoma and Kansas was authorized to pay 100 percent of the cost for all government emergency work performed from May 4-7, and for federal, state and local debris removal operations through June 3.

  • The counties of Canadian, Craig, Le Flore, Noble and Ottawa were added to the President's disaster declaration, bringing to 16 the number of Oklahoma counties designated for federal assistance.

  • Search dog teams are concentrating activities in Moore County, Okla., where five are reported missing.

  • Nearly 4,300 people have registered for disaster assistance. Registration continues from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (CDT). The toll free number is 1-800-462-9029.

  • Oklahoma's declaration for severe storms and tornadoes was amended to include damage from flooding, making those who also sustained flood losses in the 16 designated counties eligible for federal assistance.

  • A FEMA community relations officer is assigned to each affected county to work with local officials, community leaders and victims to be sure that everyone knows what assistance is available and how to apply.

  • An Emergency Response Team from FEMA's regional office in Boston, Mass., is en route to Texas to support the state in recovery operations.

  • Disaster field offices will be operational by Saturday, May 8, in Oklahoma City and in Wichita, Kan.

  • A donations hotline has been established in Oklahoma: 1-800-996-6652. In Kansas, a donations specialist will provide technical assistance to the state.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: