Missouri's Madison County Disaster Assistance Approaches $250,000

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 1999
Release Number: 

ST LOUIS, Mo. -- A combination of federal, state, local and voluntary agencies are partners in providing disaster assistance to Madison County (Missouri) residents in the wake of severe storms and flooding that swept through the area in early April.

A summary of response and recovery efforts as of April 30 follows:


  • President Clinton declared a major disaster for Missouri on April 20, triggering the release of federal funds to help people recover from the severe storms and flooding April 3-14, 1999. As a result, residents, business owners, farmers and ranchers in Madison County became eligible for a variety of state and federal disaster assistance programs. Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) are working with local government officials and voluntary agencies to bring this assistance to Madison County.


  • As of Friday (April 30), 254 Madison County residents had applied for disaster assistance through the FEMA toll-free registration line.

  • Calling the registration number 1-800-462-9029 is the first step in applying for disaster assistance. Persons with hearing or speech impairments may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Registration lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

  • A network of local and regional human service providers have formed the Madison County Flood Relief Task Force to help county residents, including farmers and ranchers, with any long-term/unmet needs not covered by other state and federal programs. The task force will be meeting regularly through the coming weeks to identify needs and develop strategies for meeting those needs.

  • A kick-off meeting was held Monday, April 26 in Fredericktown for county officials and local officials from towns and villages throughout Madison County to get an overview of the various state and federal disaster assistance programs available, as well as services provided by many voluntary agencies supporting the flood-relief effort. Speakers at the meeting included officials from SEMA, FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the American Red Cross (ARC) and representatives from the Madison County Flood Relief Task Force.

  • The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) opened April 27 in the National Guard Armory, located at 104 Armory St. in Fredericktown. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The center will remain open as long as it is needed.

  • More than 125 victims visited the Disaster Recovery Center in its first four days of operation. At the center, applicants are able to meet with representatives from FEMA, SEMA, SBA, the Missouri Division of Family Services, the Madison County Flood Relief Task Force and various other state and federal agencies.

  • Disaster Housing checks, totaling nearly $250,000, have been approved to assist eligible Madison County storm victims with the costs of making minimal repairs and/or to help those whose homes are significantly damaged, pay for another place to live. For those who are eligible, disaster housing assistance comes in the form of a grant, which is usually issued within seven to 10 days after registering with FEMA.

  • So far, FEMA inspectors have completed 162 inspections of storm-damaged properties in Madison County. The inspections, required to verify damages to determine eligibility for disaster housing assistance, generally are being completed from three to five days after victims apply via the toll-free registration line.

  • A FEMA Community Relations team is visiting v...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top