Disaster Declaration Limited to December Freeze

Main Content
Release date: 
April 27, 1999
Release Number: 

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. -- The California disaster declaration made by President Clinton on February 9 pertains only to the severe freeze of December 1998, emphasizes the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

"The disaster applies solely to the 'incident period' of December 20 through 28 that caused problems in eight counties," explained Sam Marquez, deputy federal coordinating officer for FEMA.

Although a few parts of the state experienced some frigid weather earlier in April, the resulting damages or losses are not included in the disaster declaration for the December freeze.

"However, people who were affected by the December freeze may be eligible for disaster assistance," said Marquez. "We encourage them to register with FEMA at 1-800-745-0243, because they may be qualified for help."

The federal freeze disaster includes the counties of Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, Monterey, Tulare and Ventura.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top