Main Content

Disaster Assistance is Just a Phone Call Away

Main Content
Release date: 
April 21, 1999
Release Number: 

ST LOUIS, Mo. -- Residents and business owners in Madison County, Missouri, who were affected by flash flooding between April 3 and April 14, 1999, now are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance, state and federal recovery officials announced today.

Registrations for disaster assistance can begin immediately by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 1-800-462-9029. For those who are hearing or speech impaired, the number is 1-800-462-7585. The call is free and recovery specialists can take registrations from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Those who are eligible are individuals, families and businesses in Madison County.

Callers should be prepared to provide the following information: name, social security number, and income, address of the damaged property and a phone number where they currently can be reached.

"We encourage those who have sustained damage to call us and get the process going so we can get help to them as soon as possible," said John A. Miller, regional director of FEMA's Region VII office in Kansas City, Missouri.

The assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs; grants to make minimal home repairs; low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to repair major damage and/or replace damaged personal property; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

"Calling to register for assistance is the first step toward an individual's recovery," said Jerry Uhlmann, Director of the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency in Jefferson City.

Miller added that renters, as well as homeowners, can apply for state and federal help.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: