Main Content

Deadline Nears For Applying For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
March 15, 1999
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Residents of Arkansas who have not yet applied for federal disaster have only one more week to apply. Tuesday, Mar. 23 is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Federal Coordinating Officer Graham Nance and State Coordinating Officer David Maxwell urge those who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration line at 1-800-462-9029, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., weekdays. Hearing or speech-impaired persons may call the TTY registration line at 1-800-462-7585.

Renters, homeowners or business owners who live or do business in one of the 15 counties President Bill Clinton declared a disaster area may be eligible for disaster aid. The 15 counties are Clay, Faulkner, Grant, Greene, Independence, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Poinsett, Pulaski, Saline, St. Francis and White.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans. SBA loan applications must be completed and returned to SBA and postmarked by Mar. 23. Businesses applying for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until Oct. 25 to submit applications.

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs call the Disaster Information Helpline at 1-800-525-0321. The hearing- or speech-impaired may call the TTY Helpline at 1-800-660-8005.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: