Main Content

Christian County Added To List Eligible For Federal Snow Emergency Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
February 26, 1999
Release Number: 

Note: This emergency declaration does not cover snow removal or repair costs for individuals or business owners.

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Christian County has been added to the snow emergency declaration issued by President Clinton January 8 bringing the total to 50 Illinois counties now eligible for federal disaster following the severe snowstorm last month.

The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), which administers funding assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), made the request on behalf of the county. FEMA officials made the designation to add Christian County after reviewing additional information from the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration and other sources regarding "record" or "near record" snowfall for this area.

Under the presidential emergency disaster declaration, affected local governments and certain private non-profit organizations in the county are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs, during a 48-hour period, for snow removal equipment operations, contract personnel and equipment, and overtime for permanent personnel. Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting, search and rescue, shelter operations, and police and fire departments' response may also be eligible for reimbursement.

IEMA will conduct information briefings for local officials to provide information on the snow emergency assistance program and its application requirements. State and federal representative will explain what costs are eligible, how to report equipment/personnel information, payment procedures, and answer any questions that local officials may have concerning the assistance program.

President Clinton approved the emergency declaration on January 8 following receipt of a request from the Governor's Office. Initially 34 counties in central and northern Illinois were designated for federal assistance because they had received a "record" or "near record" snowfall. Eleven more counties were added on Jan. 20, one on Jan. 28, and three on Feb. 5

"By helping these communities with their emergency costs, we are helping every taxpayer in the area," Lawrence L. Bailey, federal coordinating officer for FEMA, said. "However, this emergency declaration does not cover snow removal or repair costs expenses for individuals or business owners."

The 50 eligible counties now include: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Cook, DeWitt, DuPage, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, LaSalle, Lake, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, Will, and Woodford.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: