Main Content

FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers Set to Close

Release date: 
February 23, 1999
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Residents who sustained losses or damage as a result of the recent tornadoes have just a short time to visit FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers in Clarksville and Jackson, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today.

"The Jackson (Madison County) Disaster Recovery Center will be operating through 7 p.m., Wednesday, February 24, and the Clarksville (Montgomery County) center will operate through 7 p.m., Friday, February 26," Elgan Usrey, state coordinating officer, said." Centers are located in Burt Cobb Community Center, 1011 Franklin St., Clarksville, and in the Jackson Civic Center, 400 S. Highland St., Jackson.

"But even after the centers close the Federal Emergency Management Agency will be as close as a telephone call away," Paul Fay, Jr., Federal Coordinating Officer said. Disaster victims may still register for assistance by calling toll-free 1-800-462-9029. Those who are hearing or speech-impaired can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. "Residents can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-525-0321 to find out about assistance programs and the status of their applications," Fay added.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for tornado-damaged residential and business property. Tax assistance and other special services are also available to eligible persons affected by the disaster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: