Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center Opens Monday in Lonoke County

Main Content
Release date: 
January 29, 1999
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Local, state, and federal officials announced plans today to have a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) open in Lonoke County from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Monday and Tuesday, February 1 and 2, 1999. Its location will be the South Bend Fire Station, 4414 Arkansas State Highway 294, South Bend. The center will provide opportunities for victims of the recent severe storms, tornadoes and high winds to meet with recovery experts and learn more about disaster assistance programs.

Graham Nance, Federal Coordinating Officer, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and David Maxwell, State Coordinating Officer (SCO) encourage anyone who suffered damage or loss and has registered for assistance to visit the DRC.

Disaster programs available include temporary housing, disaster unemployment, low-interest loans to repair or replace flood-damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. In addition, residents and business owners may also be eligible for low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to help cover losses not fully covered by insurance.

Nance emphasized that residents and business owners in Clay, Independence, Lonoke, Pulaski, Saline, St. Francis and White counties who sustained damages from recent severe storms and tornadoes, should apply for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling 1-800-462-9029. Those with hearing and speech impairments can apply at 1-800-462-7585 (TDD). Applications will be accepted between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Other DRCs are:

Pulaski County
Mexico Chiq. Bldg.
State Fair Grounds
Entrance Gate 5
Little Rock
Independence County
Community Center
Old Sch. Cafeteria
4th & College St.
Saline County
Krestwood Plaza
14106 Chicot Rd.
Suite 2
Little Road
White County
ASU Campus
Owen Ctr -Mini Gym
1000 Iowa St.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top