Main Content

Clay and Lonoke Counties now Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
January 28, 1999
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Clay and Lonoke counties have been added to the list of Arkansas counties eligible for federal disaster assistance, state and federal disaster recovery officials announced today. Graham Nance, of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) made the designation following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred because of the severe storms, tornadoes and high winds on January 21.

State Coordinating Officer for disaster relief, David Maxwell, explained that the designation means that homeowners, renters and businesses of Clay and Lonoke are now eligible to apply for disaster assistance which includes disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Anyone who suffered damage or loss are urged to apply for disaster assistance by calling the toll-free registration line at 1-800-462-9029 , (TTY 1-800-462-7585) between the hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Sunday.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: